Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Lent 2024 – Guard Your Mouth

Psalm 141:3

Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.

We are in the midst of Lent 2024. Day 9 is upon us. Lent is a time to deny self and do more to witness Jesus and bring Him praise and glory. What have we decided to give up and how will we bring God praise and glory?

I remember one time – playing basketball – and missing every shot – or so it seemed. I mentioned that someone must have put a lid on the rim. Of course no one had – but the idea of a lid on the rim – keeping the ball from going thru the basket is something that a number of players has claimed when they go cold shooting. I wish my knees would allow me to return to the court – even if I missed a lot of shots. I miss playing basketball so much!

Have you ever heard the phrase – put your brain in gear before putting your mouth in motion? Too many of us shoot from the hip – so to speak (see what I did there?). Too many of us speak before we think – and then wish we could capture our words and take them back. Has that ever happened to you? I know it has happened to me – far more times than I wish to remember.

We often say things we wish we hadn’t. If only we would think before we speak! Today’s passage says – Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. Psalm 141:3 It would be nice if we had a guard over our mouth – so that we would only say the things we have thought thru and prayed over.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 141:1–4 – I call to you, Lord, come quickly to me; hear me when I call to you. 2 May my prayer be set before you like incense; may the lifting up of my hands be like the evening sacrifice. 3 Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. 4 Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil so that I take part in wicked deeds along with those who are evildoers; do not let me eat their delicacies.

Lent is upon us. Lent is the typical season to pledge to make life changes. What would it look like this Lenten season if we practiced thinking before we speak? What if we all pledged to think before we speak? Wouldn’t that glorify Jesus more?

How would that change our lives? How would that change our relationships? How many fewer times would we need to say – please forgive me – to someone we love or work with when we hurt their feelings?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

February 22, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.